The Prestige

by kangarooseamstress

Again, I seem to be a latecomer to this film but I think i’m falling in love with Christopher Nolan as a director. Stemming from the Batman trilogy and then Inception, I decided to watch another of his films. Set in London at the end of the 19th century, it depicts the lives of two magicians pitching against each other to become the best in the field. The film, however, concentrates much less on the tricks than I had originally thought it would, instead concentrating on the urge to gain the secrets of other magicians.

Christian Bale is outstanding, yet it took me a while to ease into his English accent, possibly a flaw of mine rather than his. Hugh Jackman also plays his part well, creating an image of an inferior magician with the obsession of being the best. Scarlett Johansson’s accent is sublime, and oh my is she one fine looking women. Michael Caine has always been a favourite of mine and seems to pull off an air of wise superiority over all of his colleagues, in a positive way, almost like a father.

Again, I feel like I have to talk about the ending for it leaves us in a ball of confused uncertainty (or me at least anyway). With both of the main characters dying at least once towards the end, it is unsure weather or not Robert Angier dies for we catch a glimpse on him in a trick box before the credits are shown. Mystifying once again Nolan, mystifyingImage

